WoW Expansions guide

World of Warcraft has been around for around 25 years now (at the time of writing), and it remains one of the world’s most popular MMOs (Massively Multiplayer Online Games). Blizzard has combined a mix of beautiful level designs with fantastic and challenging quests gameplay to make it more accessible than ever for anyone to get started. What’s more, its thriving and welcoming community makes jumping into a game and meeting others in the process fun and engaging.

WoW Expansions

That’s not where it stops though, ever since the game launched in 2004, Bungie has consistently worked on new content, which we know comes in the form of expansions. Each expansion has hours worth of content to keep even the most seasoned players occupied, and they’ll often find things they never knew about.

We’re ready to cover each of the expansions in an overview that will explain a little about what you could expect from each one.

World of Warcraft (2004)

The first expansion is not what you’d refer to as an expansion but included all the components to help the base game run. Your monthly subscription would begin once you purchased the ‘base pack.’

World of Warcraft: Burning Crusade (2007)

This next one was certainly an expansion as it brought in lots of exciting new elements of gameplay to expand the existing universe to provide a bigger incentive for players to get back into the game for another playthrough.

World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King (2008)

Wrath of the Lich King brought in the much-anticipated level cap when it arrived back in 2008. It increased the cap from level 70 to level 80, which allowed players to train to unlock new powers and abilities.

World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (2010)

World of Warcraft: Cataclysm was similar to previous expansions in that it increased the level cap further from level 80 to 85. There were in excess of 3500 quests introduced into the game, as well as new gameplay and storylines.

World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria (2012)

One of the most anticipated and welcomed additions that came with Mists of Pandora was the introduction of the class of the Monk alongside a new race with the Pandaren. Pandaren has a very intriguing origin story, specifically when one of the game designers intended the race of the Pandaren to be an April Fool’s joke when considering the Warcraft 3 characters. The idea was to create a silly and whacky character for the game, but then they ended up keeping it.

World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor (2014)

Next up, we saw the developers increase the level cap to a whopping level of 100. Doing so allowed players to take the abilities and strengths of their characters to a whole new level. There are a number of WoW Boosting Services that aim to help players through the heightened level caps. New animations and facial expressions are just a couple of the graphical enhancements that arrived, but it hugely added to how immersive the game felt.

World of Warcraft: Legion (2016)

The level cap was once again raised to level 110 in Legion. This base cap has remained after Blizzard communicated they’d not be charging players anymore for older expansions. This expansion introduced a number of patches that added new PvP mode abilities, new dungeons, as well as adding more balance to raids.

One thought on “WoW Expansions guide

  1. Luxon says:

    Damn, as I read this article, I read the end and see: the maximum level has been raised to 110. Once I played WoW, when this add-on was not yet available. Maybe I was casual, or I didn’t play for a long time, but I got to … 52 seems to be level. And then I got tired and bought a boost on this site:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *