Destiny 2 getting started guide

We recently saw the release of the Xbox series X and Series S, and along with that came the announcement that Destiny 2 would now be available for all Xbox game Pass subscribers. That includes all of the Destiny 2 expansions; Forsaken, shadowlands, Shadowkeep, and Beyond Light.

Destiny 2

Destiny 2 is becoming incredibly accessible to enjoy, with the Destiny 2 Services becoming a F2P title on Steam and the costs reasonable on all other major platforms. Because of its availability, many players are jumping on the Destiny 2 train right now.

It can be a challenge for those brand new to the game to get your head around some of the concepts. Fear not, though. We are here to bring you some of the best beginner’s tips around to help you get started. Ready to fight for the Destiny universe? Let’s do this.

Choose your class

At the very start of the game, a core component of success is choosing the right class for your playstyle. There are several attributes to a class, such as melee abilities, grenades, and jumps, with a specific class using supers. Supers take some time to charge before use and are known as ultimate abilities. Once a super is released, it can give you a real edge in combat, making you invincible while using it.

You will have a choice of three classes, which include Warlocks, Hunters, and Titans.

Warlocks are not too dissimilar to a mage in that they provide support options like damage boosts and healing with rifts. Of the three, Warlocks have the best jump rates.

Hunters resemble that of a rogue with quick moves and dodges. Their abilities enable massive amounts of damage to be caused through bursts.

Finally, Titans are pretty much Destiny’s tank class, possessing an ability that lets them drop a shield/defensive wall in addition to using damage mitigation techniques.

Getting to grips with the combat

Once you have decided on your class, it’s time to jump into battle. You should understand Destiny’s three ranks, including Minors, Majors, and Bosses. Starting with Minors with a red health bar, they come in droves, but they are weak. Yellow health bar Majors are rarer but pretty tough, while orange barred bosses are encountered once each session and are extremely powerful.

Considering your gear, you can carry three different weapons; White ammo Primary guns, Green ammo Specials, and Purple ammoed Power weapons.

Primary weapons consist of hand cannons like pulse rifles and assault rifles, which bundle lots of ammo at a low damage. These are great for taking out Minor enemies.

Special weapons consist of fusion rifles, sniper rifles, and shotguns and have rarer ammo to do more damage, which is excellent for majors.

Lastly, Power weapons are made up of swords, machine guns, and grenade launchers as the toughest weapon variants. These are best used against Bosses and large packs of Majors or Minors. be warned, though, ammo should be used sparingly.

Understanding Seasons

Many new players will inevitably want to know what seasons are. Destiny 2 seasons can last for around three months as events where an objective or activity is added to the game allowing players to gain new loot for completing it.

Every season has a new battle pass, which costs $10 (this is entirely optional), and once you have one, you will get access to special items like cosmetics as you build up XP.

Of course, there is much more to Destiny 2 than this, but these few tips are a great way for new players to get started and jump right into the game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *